All of our hotels can be found in places that are steeped in history. Aldeburgh’s origins are based on its importance as a medieval market town and Thorpeness in its uniqueness as a 1930’s holiday village, the vision of Glencairn Stuart Ogilvie. In the 15th century Lavenham was the 14th richest town in the country, thanks to a thriving wool trade. Today it is tourism that is one of Lavenham’s main industries. It boasts more than 300 timber-framed buildings and can happily claim to be one of the best preserved medieval villages in the UK.
The Country Club, Golf Club and Meare at Thorpeness were built between 1900 and 1920; Ogilvie’s dream was to create an environment that would offer healthy family fun, free from piers and promenades. A tradition that is still true today.
We acquired The Golf Club and Country Club in 1996/7 and aim to preserve Ogilvie’s creation, combining tradition with modern facilities and the highest standards of cuisine.
Many of our visitors and guests are keen golfers attracted by our 18-hole golf course, which was laid out in 1922. It covers more than 50 acres of scenic heathland and has a reputation for being one of the best and driest courses in the country.
The White Lion was purchased in 1997 and was extensively refurbished in 2011. The company’s portfolio extended further in 1999 with the acquisition of The Brudenell, also situated in Aldeburgh. It was completely refurbished in 2003 and again in 2010.
The prestigious and iconic Swan Hotel in Lavenham was acquired in 2004. The Swan is one of Suffolk’s most famous hotels having previously been owned by several large hotel chains. It has also undergone an extensive refurbishment which has preserved its tradition of elegant luxury in traditional surroundings. The Swan Hotel won entry into the Pride of Britain Hotels 2011 and in 2015 our wonderful Weavers’ House Spa has opened.
The Crown at Woodbridge, has been owned by the group since 2008. Woodbridge is also a beautiful, historic market town and continues to be a busy local community with a wide range of facilities.
Our newest acquisition is The Crown and Castle at Orford. The Crown and Castle is a highly rated restaurant with 21 comfortable bedrooms. Situated within a stone’s throw of the C12th castle, in the heart of the beautiful, tranquil village of Orford on the river Ore, with the National Trust’s Orford Ness just across the river.
In February 2019 we rebranded, changing our Company name from TA Hotel Collection to The Hotel Folk.